Presently the law in Tennessee states that when medical records are needed in a social security disability case for an “indigent person” hospitals are to supply the medical records at no charge if the request is accompanied by a copy of a recent application or a decision denying Social Security Benefits.
Hospitals are allowed to charge non-indigent patients based on the following rates:
· $18.00 charge for the first 5 pages of a medical record;
· .85 cents per page for pages 6-50;
· .60 cents per page for pages 51-250; and
· .35 cents per page for each page after 250 pages.
(Tennessee Code Annotated Section 63-2-102.)
Doctors do not have a ‘no charge’ requirement from the State of Tennessee. Doctors may charge patients at the following rates:
· $20.00 for 5 or fewer pages of medical records;
· .50 cents per page after the 5th page.
Additionally, the actual cost of mailing may be charged in addition to the copy charges. (Tennessee Code Annotated Section 63-2-102.)
Is there any relief for the cost of medical records in the future?
Maybe! In February of 2021 an act to amend the law relative to medical records, Senate Bill 066/House Bill 0558, would effectively reduce the charge that Hospitals and Doctors could charge to a maximum of $20.00. However, after passing the Senate, the bill is reported to have died in committee.
Please remember that this information is relevant only to Tennessee as of June 1, 2022.
If you have questions regarding Social Security Disability, please visit our website, securedisabilitylaw.com.
Call us at (423)-771-HELP or (423)-771-4357.
We help people all over the Southeast. Claim your benefits. Claim your life!